More Than What Meets The Eye

With a smile and a plastered on mask of self awareness, it feels like I am cheating and faking myself… Others may see me as a practical or logical person when in truth, I don’t even know what I am doing.

Who Are We

Sometimes I wonder where I am in the scheme of things;
I often ponder who I am.
The more I age the more epiphany’s I get;
each of them making a different man.
Yesterday’s me could never foresee who I am now.
I can’t pretend I’m not surprised.
Who I have become seems to be a stranger to me,
It’s like I’m looking through another man’s eyes

Who am I, who are you, who are we
Whoever we are, is it who we should be?
Is there a reason for all this, is there something I missed
that could tell me definitively
Who I am, who you are, who are we

Do you ever wonder if there’s more than meets the eye;
something’s afoot behind the scenes?
Is there a point to this life we live pointlessly,
that couldn’t be imagined in our dreams?
Do tears cried throughout the years, have purpose in the end,
or should we weep more because they don’t?
I think everyone should seek for a reason in life
There’s no chance of finding meaning if you won’t

Who am I, who are you, who are we
Whoever we are, is it who we should be?
Is there a reason for all this, is there something I missed
that could tell me definitively
Who I am, who you are, who are we

Why did I bring this all up anyway
Just sharing thoughts as I think of a tune
I guess I just had to get it all out
as I write me a song in my room;
musing on life as I do

Who am I, who are you, who are we
Whoever we are, is it who we should be?
Is there a reason for all this, is there something I missed
that could tell me definitively
Who I am, who you are, who are we

Copyright © L.James Tanner | Year Posted 2014

People see what they want to see. Oblivious to the fact that almost everyone has their own troubles. We blindly make assumptions about that person’s life or personality.

Generally speaking, society nowadays looks into visual appearances of people most of the time. First impression lasts, right? We first see the surface before diving in deeper. I, personally, always feel envious towards those people who could fit into society just fine. Which leads me to wonder, do they have something that troubles them? Are they always that confident and sophisticated?

When I am in the mall, or any place that is crowded, I often observe people and imagine what it’s like inside their mind. Are they really contented? Happy? Sad? Troubled? Do they have a dog? Oh, that person may be a cat lover.

Well, my point is… I actually don’t know. Haha. Kidding. I am guilty of making judgments towards others as much as the next person. The words “more that what meets the eye” came to me when I was lying in bed, waiting for sleepiness to visit me while looking at the ceiling. It was just a passing thought, but made me think, ah *starts-to-nod*, yeah, that make sense…

There’s always another POV of the story. Another side to a coin. Countless of pages to be flipped over after the book cover. And there’s more to a person than what he/she lets on.

P.S. Even this entry has a hidden part of it.

2 thoughts on “More Than What Meets The Eye

Leave a Reply

